, , ,

Moses lived some six hundred years before his Ten Commandments were written down about the year 830 BCE in what is known as the Elohist document. ( See, 1st Presbyterian. Bishop John Shelby SpongUnbelievable page 211.) There are three versions of the Ten Commandments: Exodus 34Deuteronomy 5, – and Exodus 20 the usual version. Here is a brief list.

Ten Commandments from the Bible
I am the Lord thy God, which have brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage.
Thou shalt have no other gods before me
Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image
Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain
Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy
Honor thy father and thy mother
Thou shalt not kill
Thou shalt not commit adultery
Thou shalt not steal
Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor
Thou shalt not covet (neighbor’s house)
Thou shalt not covet (neighbor’s wife)
Thou shalt not covet (neighbor’s slaves, animals, or anything else)
You shall set up these stones, which I command you today, on Mount Gerizim.

That list is derived from the Jewish Elohist scholars and appears to be a truncated one culled from the commonly known much longer list published on stone-stelae at Delphi, Greece, created by The Seven Sages. Those stelae were sent to all cities in the known world where there were Greek-speaking people.

That is a copy of yesterday’s opening to this blog, but today’s will be a little different because Spong on page 191 of Unbelievable writes of the parallels between Jesus’ life and message as being patterned after Moses’ life and message. “All three of these gospels were originally created we now recognize, to provide Jesus stories for the seasons and Sabbaths of the synagogue’s liturgical year. That is why the story of the crucifixion was told against the backdrop of the Passover and why Matthew placed what came to be called the Sermon on the Mount against the synagogue’s observance of Shavuot, or Weeks, the day set aside to celebrate God giving the Torah through Moses at Mt. Sinai.”

That and the following pages show many parallels between these two men’s lives, but what was significant was that each of them went up a mountain to receive God’s message and then presented what they found as a set of ideals to be lived by the believers.  Moses gave the Ten Commandments, and Jesus gave the Beatitudes and His Golden Rule. This parallel becomes apparent when the list of parallels are presented by Spong. Without his observation, I wouldn’t be making this one, but the Beatitudes is an ascending scale presented to help people move from a lowly state of meaning existing in God’s Heaven on Earth up a staircase of grander skills and responsibilities until they themselves were in a Heavenly state created by their own actions.

See the development of this idea in previous posts on the subject of Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount.