Tags

, , ,

About 1996 I began a strange behavior. It was based on the idea that plaque in the arteries was in some kind of balance with the normal bodily processes. If there wasn’t some kind of natural method for clearing plaque off of the arteries then the build-up would be one way and quickly kill people. Instead, the process takes years and usually decades.

My idea was that if the plaque was in a librating state of balance with a slow buildup on the walls of the arteries then there must be some kind of dissolving function counterbalancing the accumulation processes. What could that be and is there a way that I could improve the cleaning of my arteries and remove the plaque?

Alcohol dissolves fats and therefore it might make more soluble the plaque buildup in my arteries. I had no idea if people who drank had less cardiovascular problems and it was obvious that those who did drink very much alcohol had a multitude of problems. Then I realized that the solubility of most things is temperature related and if the plaque was near a natural equilibrium state, it would probably be sensitive to alcohol plus heat. So, I began an experiment 21 years ago which continues to this day, and I have averaged about one hot bath a month with a shot of whiskey when my mouth temperature reaches 101°F. At age 82 my blood pressure is generally about 120/68, 55 bpm which is about right for a high school athlete in training. The old medical rule of thumb for the systolic was age plus 100 which means my blood pressure should be more like 182, not 120. Nowadays, the doctors are saying get it down to 120 any way possible and for them, that means using drugs.

I am quick to admit that a single person’s experience isn’t science but then I came across this study which is based on a cohort of 400,000 European adults followed for an average of 13 years. That’s science, and they came up with this chart.

Alcohol consumption and life risk

Total hazard rate ratio of various diseases based on alcohol consumption

Image from Public Health Expert, University of Otago, New Zealand

The coronary heart disease curve shows the effect I have been suspecting for over twenty years even though it is unlikely that anyone was influencing that curve by following my hot-bath procedure. If they had been doing my procedure the death rate from coronary heart disease would drop even faster to near zero. Using my procedure of an occasional hot bath with a drink and one drink per day would probably put my overall consumption near the bottom of all the risk curves at 10-15 grams per day.

A wise man can learn more from a fool than a fool can from a wise man.

