Tags

, , ,

Early this morning was spent working on the cover for Love Our Life – A Game Approach to Health. It includes an emoji-based icon of a smile and a small print prompt on the bottom that may be included on every page. Quite a few thoughts and variations have been explored in the cover with the idea of having enough uniqueness to be seen, remembered and picked up. Once it is picked up the back cover must be interesting enough to open the book. As I write this and read the brief blurb on the back, I feel that it doesn’t have enough grabbing power. The words do convey what is to be found in the book but they aren’t stimulating enough.

The other day Jerry suggested that I do the main ideas as bullet points for the back cover. I have already done several of the existing forty-three subject essays as bullet point lists. Some of those lists are game titles. Perhaps it would be intriguing to post an easy but interesting challenge.

Can you close your eyes right now and imagine putting your hand on some candy? If you find yourself drooling you have a problem. So, try playing this game … When at the grocery store in the checkout line, hover your hand over the pile of candy and say to yourself, “I don’t need this candy in my home tempting me all the time. I can say no right now and eliminate that problem.” If you have time you can carry on a long conversation with yourself about that candy. Doing that successfully a single time is a success and sets up the possibility of doing it again the next time you are at the store. After doing this successfully for a while you will have a strong habit of resisting candy in that particular situation. As a bonus, you will have the possibility of applying that habit when you are at parties and there is a pile of candies and cakes. This isn’t dieting. You are not depriving yourself of anything because you are just playing a game. At any moment you can choose to stop playing the game but by not taking the candy you are winning the game. There is a point system for measuring your successful passing by of things you don’t want.

Those are the kinds of thoughts I have been mulling over for months.

Later in the morning, I attended a two-hour conversation where people were discussing their life trajectories and how they were coping with their problems. I haven’t spoken up for weeks in these conversations because my problems seem trivial and abstract compared to other people’s serious problems. The problems of writing a book about trying to save a billion people from their obesity are nothing compared to their awful problems. My problems are more concerned with avoiding distractions. For example, thinking about where am I going to go for the coming solar eclipse and then cruising Google Earth for a long time. I have been invited to a ranch where the eclipse is going to be a minute long, but it’s going to be two minutes long out at our ex-family farm, but I don’t have any access to that anymore. Besides, it is recommended that you get to those good locations three days before the event and plan on staying for another day to avoid the huge exodus after the event.

Debbie and I went to an eclipse lecture for two hours this evening. I won a T-shirt for answering more questions right than a hundred other people. I usually win a T-shirt at these Science Pub events and then give it to someone who needs an orange OSU shirt. After the lecture, I talked to an ex-astronaut for a couple of minutes and then to the speaker for about ten minutes until the lecture hall was empty and he was headed home. Typical me.

My iPhone says I walked over 7,000 steps today.

It was a typical day but I want to make the LOL book read much better. Distractions.

