Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been intrigued by a photograph taken about the year 1900 in Black River Falls, Wisconsin. It falls into the trend of these previous women in that it seems to carry a message of fear associated with perfect facial features. Perhaps it is only the brooding mouth and the wide open eyes staring at me, but I find it difficult to look away. Even having the picture over to the side while I am writing this blog post is disturbing. Is she bothered by me and what I am thinking or is she watching carefully and waiting for a moment to do some mischief? Leave this picture on your screen for a while and you will understand my concern.

A woman staring at me.

This Black River Falls woman was in Wisconsin Death Trip; perhaps she was the infamous window smasher.

The window smasher went from town to town breaking windows so she would get a week’s room and board at the city jail.

