Tags

, , ,

Since I moved to Bend, Oregon, 5¼ years ago I haven’t traveled—well, not as a tourist. I did go to the 100th Eidemiller reunion in Tipp City, Ohio. That’s my mother’s side of my family, and I went to a close friend’s funeral back in Berkeley, twice to Lake Tahoe and twice to Portland. Once with the UU design committee to view UU church architecture and get ideas for the design of our new building, and again to Portland last month to the VA clinic to have a minor sarcoma removed from my shin. That’s only about once a year I’ve been more than walking distance from my home.

Locally, I’ve been 20 miles over to Sisters twice, and once the 24 miles up to Smith Rocks, and three times 16 miles to the Sunriver Nature Center for lectures. Oh yes, I almost forgot, three years ago I went 240 miles to my 60th high school reunion in Richland, Washington.

Usually I consider the monthly 3-mile drive out the freeway to Trader Joe’s grocery store to be an excursion. We have three other stores closer, so we only go to Joe’s for special items.

We live in such a beautiful place, and I have lots of fine friends that I visit with weekly. The biggest political issue is potholes in the streets. Why go anywhere? I might miss out on a social event. Sometimes I think back to my wonderful fifty years in Berkeley as an adult, but Bend has been better for me as an eighty-year-old. My old Berkeley friends would be astonished watching lots of beautiful people come running up and hugging me.

Why leave?

