Tags

, , , ,

I am your willing companion, and I will do my best to help you to see the options before you, but I will hesitate to help you directly; that is, I will not do your personal tasks for you. My experimental thoughts lately have been on how to help other people live and live more abundantly, and that means helping them to stay alive, and then helping them to participate as fully as they can in the opportunities that become available to them. My intent is to do this for everyone as much as that is possible, but of course there is some propinquity involved, and I can participate more fully with those people with whom I come into frequent contact.

There is a general strategy with this goal, and that is to create simple methods for everyone to explore the options available to them, and to explore the validity of the methods on myself. I do not relish the idea of voluntarily putting myself into the mindset of a defeated and thus depressed child, and yet I want to go there a few times, so that I may experience the techniques for escaping that miserable condition.

The basic idea is that a person in any level of maturity has the best chances for personal growth when they are feeling positive and expansive. They have only a few options for moving to a more positive mental state when they are feeling normally unhappy. And they have almost no options for even moving up to a mental state of unhappiness when they are severely depressed. That is true when a person is a child or even when mature, and probably even when a sage.

The literature for personal growth acknowledges obvious states of maturity, but there haven’t been clear paths, at least ones that I am aware of, that offer a method for going through all conditions from depressed infant through expansive sage. There are glimmers of great thoughts occasionally, such as Freud’s and Jung’s idea that a person can’t find happiness except through love and work. I would agree, but these thinkers are limiting their thoughts and treatments to what they were usually calling neurotics.

This new theory would suggest that the actions to be practiced depend on the person’s current state of maturity. The value of the method is that a person can see where they are emotionally, and thus choose their appropriate relationship with the general idea of love and work. An adolescent’s, adult’s and mature person’s attitude to love and work are very different, and thus their behaviors towards those worthy life goals are different. Once these goals are stated clearly and the best affirmations and attitudes are identified for a level of maturity, the person’s behavior becomes goal-directed. Working towards a goal becomes an interesting, fun and rewarding activity with the end purpose of being a fully functioning and contented person.

I am not a slave to your desires, but your companion on the path to greater maturity and contentment.

