I was conversing earlier this evening with St. and Je. and they were talking about the observation that they could remember things that had happened every decade of their lives; and gave a few examples. As that conversation developed it became apparent to me that every moment counts. Why should we measure our lives in decades, or years, or days, or hours, or minutes, when our consciousness only lasts a second or so for each thought? We should measure our lives by seconds, by heartbeats.

If my mind has a new thought every second, and never returns to exactly the same thought, shouldn’t that be closer to the essence of me? My total life has some carryover from one year to the next, but the part I am actually living at any moment is this moment, and even if I am thinking about some other time or place, or thought, it is still in this second that I am doing that, and in a few seconds all of that will change.

As important as a given thought and moment may feel, I know from experience that sometimes I can’t remember it, even though when it fleeted by I felt it to be the most exciting thing to happen for months. I saw Jerry Seinfeld being interviewed on national TV, when a thought fluttered by in the conversation, and he whipped out his notebook and wrote a few words without he or the interviewer ever commenting about it. That act for Jerry was as automatic as shrugging or scratching an itch. I have carried a 3×5 inch notebook for years, and do take notes, but it isn’t as reflexive for me as it seemed to be for him. It is in the tiny little events that the most exciting times in life occur, so we should make a point of remembering those moments.

Life is lived in the moments, and they can be measured by heartbeats more accurately than by decades.

