Tags

, , , , ,

A search for tranquility and Stoicism brought up a summer-long hike through France with a donkey. The hiker Andy Merrifield had many mild adventures, and his rented donkey Gribouille carried most of the loads and maintained the abiding tranquility.  The Wisdom of Donkeys: Finding Tranquility in a Chaotic World will grant you several evenings of pleasant bedtime reading, which for me precipitated a reverie-like sleep. Andy did his research well and uncovered quite a collection of literary references to donkeys.

I read this book as background material for developing ideas for Stoicism. It did mention stoicism and tranquility several times, but I didn’t make any clear connections to the Classic Stoics, like Zeno of Citium, Seneca, Epictetus, or Marcus Aurelius, so this book wasn’t helpful for my attempt to better understand and reveal stoic methods to myself. My aim has been to clarify how the goal of tranquility, so prized by the Stoics, might be generated in our modern people who are subjected to so many emotional assaults.

Tonight I was confronted with my local Oregon State Ducks football team versus the Ohio State Buckeyes for the National College Championship. It was a win-win versus a lose-lose situation because my spouse’s father is a dedicated Ohio fan. I was rooting for both teams. Oregon was as usual great for the first quarter, but not so good for the rest of the game, and lost. I am not much of a sports fan, but it is exciting to watch. Oregon had a problem from the start because two of their best players couldn’t play in the game.

