Tags

, ,

I enjoy a couple of hours of TV several nights per week, but I have recently realized my viewing habits were totally wrong for my personal needs. Everyone watches for different reasons and mine have been a bit scattered between serious viewing of NOVA shows, profound social dramas and Comedy Central outrage. Quite frankly the NOVA shows are not all that informative, but usually reasonably factual and they give a chance to meet some of the important people in the field of whatever the particular show happens to be about. On that score the TED online talks are much more informative than NOVA and are not nearly so prone to the sophomoric gee whiz spin, isn’t it great to be a scientist. But I do watch both of them occasionally when they are on my subjects.

I used to watch Charlie Rose, but got so fed up with him interrupting important guests when they were saying something really interesting, that I quit watching his show. I found myself literally yelling at him on the TV to shut up – alas to no avail, but my yells were loud enough he should have heard them from New York. Steven Colbert is much more interesting and gets to the key points much quicker and more brilliantly and gets to surprising depths at exposing potential flaws in the guest’s reasoning. It is intended to be high comedy, and it is the king’s comedy, so I love it, even if it is overlain with adolescent bravado.

Tosh.0 is worth watching because it gives the viewer, me in my case, a totally new perspective on human behavior. It is dumbfounding just how foolishly seemingly normal people can behave. Quite often there will be an interview before or after, with someone who is involved in an easily avoided, but life-threatening stunt. Quite often the stunt has no possible reward potential and plenty of serious injury potential, and yet these people do these dangerous things. In the videos the stunts usually end up with someone with a shattered body. It is a question for me to ponder, because my life goal is to help humanity find its way to a contented future, so how can I approach these people in a way that will make more sense to them than their videotaped actions?

The Simpsons and South Park are over-the-top funny, and every episode jumps whole schools of sharks. The Simpsons usually covers current general events at some depth and hits the bases, but South Park is so current that it’s almost this week’s news taken to the most extreme distortion possible. Just get out your thesaurus, look up the extreme of any word and those cardboard kids will be worrying it to pieces when they get a chance. They are so current they often miss some important innuendo, but rest assured they will get back to it if they can and shred it into colorful confetti.

What I haven’t been doing during these shows is taking notes. That is more than a catastrophic gross oversight, it is a missed innuendo. The unrecorded life, that is in the form of a diary was once claimed to be an unlived life. In comparison, a TV show taken without any notes on the weird antics seen there is a TV show unappreciated.

