Tags

, ,

My frustration gets compounded when last week’s computer failure was repaired and yesterday while writing my blog my repair was confounded and the infernal machine died again. About two months ago it had died, and was then put through a cleaning of its guts. That revivified that eleven-year-old, under the desk, 64-bit tower box. Yesterday’s computer death brought on the usual wiggling of wires, but the old cliche, the third time is a charm, meant in this case it was time to admit it’s time to buy a new computer. After an hour of checking what was now available and comparing my modest complaints about my old box, I got a HP p7-1010 –  at our local Staples.

  • AMD Athlon™ II 645 Quad-Core Processor (3.10GHz)
  • 6GB installed memory
  • 1TB hard drive
  • SuperMulti DVD Burner
  • Wireless LAN 802.11b/g/n
  • High Definition Audio with up to 7.1 surround sound capabilities
  • 15-in-1 memory card reader
  • Includes HP USB Keyboard and optical mouse
  • Dimensions 16.14″(L) x 6.89″(W) x 15.28″(H/D) approx.
  • Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64-bit
  • 1 year warranty

That seems a good balance of everything for $399. All I need to do now is transfer my personal data and programs off the old hard drives and everything should be tasty peaches and cream. Usually, I put the old drives from previous computers inside the new box, and link them in; but with a terabyte hard drive it makes sense to transfer my photos and other personal stuff onto the new hard drive and also keep them as backups on the old drives stored externally.

After an hour at the store, and a couple of hours setting up the computer, mostly spent trying to rearrange the rat’s nest of old wires into a newer and tidier rat’s nest, it’s working just fine. At my ancient age, if this computer lasts as long as my last one this may be my last computer. I wonder what wonders will pass across this VX2835VM ViewSonic screen and through the Sennheiser PC 166 mike and headphones. If it were possible to look back a decade to when I first used my old tower box, now dead, and from then be able to look into the future and see what came through it, I would be pleased. The EarthArk Project came into being on that computer. I am disappointed, however, that the Probaway Clots, which preceded that computer, didn’t become common knowledge; had it done so, millions of people’s lives would have been extended. Que sera sera. And so:

We boldly go into the future where no man has gone before.

