Tags

, ,

It becomes obvious that Steven Colbert is a living Tolkien being, from this quote,

The Road goes ever on and on,
Down from the door where it began,
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,
Until it joins some larger way,
Where many paths and errands meet,
And whither then?
I cannot say.”

– J.R.R. Tolkien, Lord of the Rings

This is the way he is living his life. Steven has mentioned Tolkien many times on his show, but it wasn’t until reading this quote that it became obvious, to me at least, that he has imbibed those qualities to his core. That poem is exactly the way  Steven behaves every moment I have seen him on my screen. By the way, when we now utter the word, Steven it means that exact man. It’s like saying Jesus, Voltaire, Pocahontas, GeronimoErasmus, AristotleCicero, Nero, or Tolkien, there is no mistaking to whom we refer.

Steven plays many people but under the skin he is pure Tolkien.

