Tags

, , ,

I have done the High Intensity Training for a month now. I don’t have a stationary bicycle like the one used in the BBC movie about High Intensity physical Training, (HIT), so instead I have explored various ways to do the HIT exercises while standing in my kitchen. Briefly, what I have done after getting up from my computer is to walk around for about a minute, while loosening up. That includes several deep knee bends and the spine flexing in all directions and some general swinging about of the arms. Then I set my microwave timer by hitting the count-down timer button and then 1, 1, 1 and the go button. That gives me 51 seconds to warm up further before I begin the HIT. During this time I gently but vigorously go through the ten or so different exercises I have worked out for my upper body. They each look quite silly — flapping, swinging, rapid forward and back and such, but just doing each of them allows me to choose the one I haven’t done for a while and then decide to do that specific one.

When the timer hits 20 seconds before the buzzer I begin doing the exercise I have just chosen as fast and strenuously as I can. I do that with utmost vigor until the buzzer goes off. I try to keep up a normal breathing while I do these exercises, but after the 20 seconds is up I find I am breathing deeply. Even doing a simple arm exercise as fast as possible for that short time generates real fatigue in the participating muscles. I am hoping this upper body exercise is enough to get the desirable effects described in the BBC movie. At the moment the science isn’t clear on why they were getting the measurable desirable effects; perhaps it requires whole body effort which is straining the underlying vital organs, or perhaps it is something about the chemicals released by overexerted muscles which is releasing some beneficial hormones. If it is the latter my partial body exercises should do the trick. One thing is obvious and that is my upper arm muscles have grown definitely firmer. My abdominal ones are as far from a six-pack as possible and I am still calling it a one pack, but I think there is something going on there too and will report back in a month or two.

This routine is done only three times a day three times per week. Monday, Wednesday and Friday works out well and gives a day in between exercise days and a two day break on the weekend. The whole routine takes about three minutes, counting warm up, the HIT and then a gentle walk about. Which adds up to about eighteen minutes per week. The total time isn’t the problem, so anyone who can’t do this form of physical training has only one excuse – they are lazy.

